什么是GPU加速技术?

 

GPU硬件加速是使用图形处理单元(GPU)将计算密集型任务从CPU转移到GPU。 GPU更好地设计来处理计算处理任务的原因在于,GPU由较小但效率更高的处理器组成,这些处理器可以并行处理计算,而不是由CPU进行串行计算。 GPU加速用于在自动驾驶汽车,无人机,高端游戏,医学成像和多媒体处理应用程序(例如DVD Ripper,视频增强器等)中运行机器学习算法。

 

您何时需要打开或禁用GPU硬件加速?

 

GPU加速可以提供比CPU快10倍的处理速度。唯一的副作用是它可能导致更多的电源使用。因此,如果电池电量不足,最好禁用GPU加速。但是,这并不总是正确的,因为如今我们拥有某些专业的硬件GPU,与执行CPU所需的处理相比,执行相同处理所需的功率更少。

 

因此,仍然悬而未决的问题是-何时打开或禁用GPU硬件加速。该问题的答案是-始终保持开启硬件加速功能。旨在利用GPU加速的应用程序将能够更好地工作,启用该功能的应用程序以及不使用该功能的应用程序也不会受到影响。我们经验中的某些应用程序在使用GPU加速时可能会遇到错误。您可以从“设置”部分为这些应用程序禁用GPU加速。

 

如何打开硬件加速

 

Windows 10

turn on gpu acceleration on Windows 10

 

在更新最终使其成为一项功能之前,Windows 10中的硬件加速支持是一个很长的设置。在我们开始告诉您如何在Windows中打开硬件加速之前,您需要查看您是否正在运行Windows 10版本2004或内部版本19041。可以在“设置”>系统>关于。

 

Windows 2020年5月10日更新中提供了此版本。除此之外,您还需要英伟达GeForce 451.48+ 要么 Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.5.1 Beta驱动程序。 Nvidia GeForce更新使所有用户均可使用GPU加速,而对于AMD,此功能仅对其beta用户可用。

 

要在Windows 10中启用GPU加速,请搜索图形设定 并在下面切换开关硬件加速的GPU调度 选项为开。

 

 

Google Chrome浏览器是一个资源匮乏的应用程序。即使打开一个简单的网页,您也可以看到它使用了多少RAM。打开多个选项卡,您将有一个庞然大物的应用程序在占用您的计算机资源。 GPU加速提供了将Google Chrome浏览器的繁重工作从CPU转移到GPU的选项。默认情况下,大多数Google Chrome安装中都启用了此功能。

 

turn on GPU acceleration on Chrome

您可以转到“设置”部分,然后搜索\“ Hardware \”(chrome:// settings /?search = hardware)查看启用了GPU硬件加速的切换选项。

 

火狐浏览器

 

Firefox默认情况下利用GPU加速来改善CPU性能,并将大量图形内容转移到GPU。您可以在选项>下看到启用或禁用设置。常规>  效果部分。您将需要取消选择“使用推荐的性能设置”,以能够自定义并行处理或禁用GPU加速。

 

turn on gpu acceleration on firefox

 

GPU硬件加速技术在哪里应用?

 

GPU加速最初是为运动图像或视频而设计的,但如今已广泛使用。在各种各样的应用程序中,许多现在与视频处理相关,例如在视频编辑,视频处理,游戏等中。让我们详细了解GPU加速如何以及在何处发现了当今计算世界中的主要用途。

 

DVD复制

 

复制DVD涉及一些主要处理。它涉及到首先对磁盘数据进行本地复制,然后将相同数据无损刻录到另一张磁盘。这就是为什么复制DVD时会听到计算机风扇打开的原因。复制原始DVD也可能涉及取消保护措施,这进一步增加了对处理能力的需求。为了满足这种资源需求,大多数高级DVD复制软件都利用了GPU硬件加速。

进一步了解 最好的DVD复制软件

 

DVD翻录

 

与DVD复制类似,翻录受保护的DVD涉及大量解码和保护删除。市场上有许多类型的保护,每年都会出现新的保护算法。解码此类保护并保持视频和音频质量完好,需要大量的处理能力,这是通过GPU硬件加速来实现的。 DVD处理软件的顶级领导者声称,借助GPU硬件加速,速度可提高10倍。

 

视频转换

 

视频转换意味着更改视频和/或音频的编码格式。这是一个资源密集的过程,因为它涉及将多媒体内容从当前格式完全分解并将其放入完全不同的容器中。在裁剪,修剪,更改色彩饱和度,更改视频质量等过程中,许多工具也允许视频编辑。简而言之,这不只是渲染一个全新的视频。 GPU硬件加速通过减轻CPU的负担并更有效地执行多处理,使处理时间大大缩短。

 

赌博

 

在线和离线游戏都需要大量资源,因为它涉及实时图形处理。 Nvidea等GPU制造商会定期发布GPU更新,以支持新游戏。各种测试仪都有在玩游戏时基准化了不同的GPU硬件 并发布了他们在使用GPU和不使用GPU进行帧渲染时看到的差异。他们看到的差异从几帧到4k屏幕上显示所需的双倍提高的帧速率不等。

 

机器学习

 

机器学习涉及需要高计算能力的深度学习模型。许多初学者认为,他们将需要云计算的能力才能使用深度学习算法。但是,事实并非如此。开发良好的神经网络系统的要求中,最耗费资源的任务是训练深度学习模型。这是因为训练涉及多个矩阵乘法。如果您可以并行执行这些计算而不是串行执行这些计算,则可以在笔记本电脑上设计神经网络。这就是GPU进入画面的地方。正如我们上面所讨论的,GPU支持的并行处理完全符合我们对机器学习模型进行训练的要求。

 

转换视频时如何打开GPU硬件加速?

 

如何使用Intel GPU开启硬件加速

 

使用DVDFab转换视频时,可以确保DVDFab使用GPU硬件加速来提高转换速度。借助Nvidia HEVC CUDA硬件加速和AMD APP加速,DVDFab可使转换速度提高30倍。 Nvidia的最新GPU支持h.265编码,又名HEVC编码,与软件编码相比,性能提高了30倍。这些GPU是-GeForce GTX 960,GeForce GTX 970和GeForce GTX980。如果拥有它们,则可以从HEVC CUDA中受益。要使用DVDFab打开GPU硬件加速,请转到“通用设置”>一般> A / V编解码器并将视频解码器和视频编码器都设置为CUDA。

 

turn on gpu acceleration when copying a DVD

 

如何使用AMD GPU开启硬件加速

 

即使您使用AMD代替Intel,您也可以利用GPU硬件加速。 AMD APP(AMD加速并行处理)的缩写是拥有AMD图形卡时的GPU硬件加速。如果您有正确的AMD GPU卡,则DVDFab可以将其用于解码H.264,H.265,VC1和MPEG2视频并编码H.264和H.265视频(当前以Blu-ray复制), 蓝光开膛手,蓝光DVD转换器, 视频转换器 并且很快就会在更多产品中出现。

 

要启用AMD GPU硬件加速,除最后一部分外,用户需要遵循上述针对Nvidea的相同步骤。他们必须从下拉列表中选择AMD APP而不是CUDA,以便对视频进行编码和解码。 H.265来源选项的AMD APP无法正常工作,但将很快修复。并非可以检查DVDFab支持的所有AMD GPU系列卡以及完整列表这里

 

turn on gpu acceleration when converting a video

 

有时启用硬件加速可能会在转换或复制过程中导致错误。如果看到任何错误,则可以禁用硬件加速,然后尝试再次运行该选项。您还应该向DVDFab团队报告任何此类错误,以便他们可以在下一个版本中解决此问题。

 

UHD复制和转换

 

当CPU正在执行复制和转换过程时,复制4k视频光盘可能需要20多个小时。但是,对于GeForce GTX 10(Pascal)系列及以上的GPU,相同的过程将花费不到1小时或更短的时间。您可以比较使用GPU和不使用GPU时DVDFab Converter的性能。 英伟达CUDA AMD APP分别为 和 。很明显,GPU硬件加速如何适合视频编辑或想要复制或翻录UHD光盘的人员的需求。

What is GPU Acceleration Technology?

 

GPU Hardware Acceleration is the use of Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) to shift compute-intensive tasks from the CPU to the GPU. The reason why GPU is better designed to handle compute processing tasks is that GPU consists of smaller but more efficient processors which handle computing in parallel instead of the serial computing by CPU. GPU acceleration is used for running Machine learning algorithms, in autonomous cars, drones, high-end games, medical imaging and multimedia handling applications like DVD Rippers, Video enhancers, etc.

 

When do you need to turn on or disable GPU hardware acceleration?

 

GPU acceleration can offer 10x better processing speed than a CPU. The only side effect comes with its that it might lead to more power usage. So, if you are running low on battery, it might be a good idea to disable GPU acceleration. However, this is not always true because nowadays we have certain specialist hardware GPU which can take less power to do the same processing than what it takes on a CPU.

 

So the question that still hangs in the air is - when to turn on or disable the GPU hardware acceleration. The answer to this question is - always keep hardware acceleration ON. Applications which are designed to make use of GPU acceleration will work better which the feature enabled and applications which don’t use it won’t be impacted either. Certain applications in our experience might experience bugs when using GPU acceleration. You can disable GPU acceleration for these applications from their Settings section.

 

How to turn on Hardware Acceleration

 

Windows 10

turn on gpu acceleration on Windows 10

 

Hardware Acceleration support in Windows 10 was a setting for a long time before an update finally made it a feature. Before we start telling you how to turn on Hardware Acceleration in Windows, you need to see if you are running Windows 10 version 2004 or Build 19041. You can check this in in Settings > System > About.

 

This version is available in Windows 10 May 2020 update. In addition to this, you will need Nvidia GeForce 451.48+ or Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.5.1 Beta driver. The Nvidia GeForce update makes GPU acceleration available for all its users whereas for AMD the feature is available only for its beta users.

 

To enable GPU Acceleration in Windows 10, search for Graphics settings and toggle the switch under Hardware-accelerated GPU scheduling option to On.

 

Chrome

 

Google Chrome is a resource-hungry application. You can see how much RAM it utilizes even when a simple web page is open. Open multiple tabs and you have a monster application guzzling your computer resources. GPU acceleration provides the option of transferring the work of heavy processing by your Google Chrome from the CPU to GPU. By default, this is enabled in most Google Chrome installations.

 

turn on GPU acceleration on Chrome

You can go to the Settings section and search for “Hardware” (chrome://settings/?search=hardware) to see the Toggle option to enabled GPU Hardware Acceleration.

 

Firefox

 

Firefox by default makes use of GPU acceleration to improve CPU performance and shift graphics-heavy content to GPU. You can see the setting to enable or disable it under Options > General>  Performance section. You will need to deselect the “Use Recommended performance settings” to be able to customize parallel processing or disable GPU acceleration.

 

turn on gpu acceleration on firefox

 

Where is GPU hardware Acceleration Technology applied?

 

GPU Acceleration while initially designed for motion images or videos, finds a wide range of use now. Out of those wide varieties of applications, many are now related to video processing like in video editing, video processing, gaming, etc. Let’s see in detail how and where GPU acceleration finds major usage in today’s computing world.

 

DVD Copy

 

Making a copy of a DVD involves some major processing. It involves first making a local copy of the disc data and then burning the same data losslessly to another disc. That is why you will hear your computer fan going On when you copy a DVD. Copying an original DVD might also involve the removal of protections that further increases the need for processing power. To deal with such resource requirement, most of the premium DVD Copy software makes use of GPU hardware acceleration.

Learn more about the best DVD copy software.

 

DVD Ripping

 

Similar to DVD Copy, ripping of a protected DVD involves a lot of decoding and protection removal. There are many types of protections in the market with new protection algorithms coming in every year. Decoding such protections and keeping the video and audio quality intact requires a lot of processing power which is achieved by GPU hardware acceleration. The top leaders in DVD handling software claim to provide 10x improvement in speeds with the help of GPU hardware acceleration.

 

Video conversion

 

Video conversion means changing the encoding format of video and/or audio. It is a resource-intensive process since it involves completely breaking down the multimedia content from its current format and putting it into a completely different container. Many tools allow video editing as well during the process like cropping, trimming, changing color saturation, changing the video quality, etc. It short, it is no less than rendering a completely new video. GPU hardware acceleration makes the processing time much shorter by taking off the load from the CPU and doing the multiprocessing much more efficiently.

 

Gaming

 

Both online and offline gaming is resource-intensive since it involves real-time graphics processing. GPU manufacturers, like Nvidea, push regular GPU updates to support new games. Various testers have benchmarked different GPU hardware while playing games and published the differences they see when in frame rendering when using a GPU and without it. The difference they see varies from just a few frames to double improved frame rate required for display on 4k screens.

 

Machine Learning

 

Machine Learning involves deep learning models which take high computation power. Many beginners think that they will require the power of cloud computing to be able to work on Deep Learning algorithms. However, that is far from the truth. Among the requirements for developing a good neural network system, the most resource-intensive task is training the deep learning model. This is because training involves multiple matrix multiplications. If you can achieve these calculations in parallel instead doing it serially, you can design your neural network on your laptop. And that is where a GPU comes into the picture. As we discussed above, a GPU enabled parallel processing which fits exactly into our requirement for training on machine learning models.

 

How to turn on GPU Hardware acceleration when you converting a video?

 

How to turn on hardware acceleration with Intel GPU

 

When you are using DVDFab to convert a video, you can make sure that DVDFab uses GPU hardware acceleration to improve the conversion speed. With Nvidia HEVC CUDA Hardware Acceleration and AMD APP Acceleration, DVDFab can give a 30x increase in conversion speed. Nvidia’s latest GPU support h.265 encodings, aka HEVC encoding which offers the 30x performance improvement over software encoding. These GPUs are - GeForce GTX 960, GeForce GTX 970 and GeForce GTX 980. If you have them, you can benefit from HEVC CUDA. To turn on GPU hardware acceleration with DVDFab, go to Common Settings > General > A/V Codec and set Video Decoder and Video Encoder both to CUDA.

 

turn on gpu acceleration when copying a DVD

 

How to turn on hardware acceleration with AMD GPU

 

Even if you are using AMD instead of Intel, you can take advantage of GPU hardware acceleration. AMD APP, the short for AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing is the GPU hardware acceleration when you have an AMD graphic card. If you have the right AMD GPU card, DVDFab uses it in decoding H.264, H.265, VC1 and MPEG2 videos and encoding H.264 and H.265 videos, currently, in Blu-ray Copy, Blu-ray Ripper, Blu-ray to DVD Converter, Video Converter and will be in more products soon enough.

 

To enable AMD GPU hardware acceleration, users need to follow the same steps as mentioned for Nvidea above except for the last part. Instead of CUDA, they have to select the AMD APP from the dropdown for both encoding and decoding videos. The AMD APP to the H.265 sources option is not working but that will be fixed soon. Not all cards from the AMD GPU family as supported by DVDFab and the complete list can be checked here.

 

turn on gpu acceleration when converting a video

 

It is possible that sometimes enabling hardware acceleration might cause errors during the conversion or copy process. If you see any errors, you can disable hardware acceleration and try running the option again. You should also report any such errors to the DVDFab team so that they can fix the issue in their next release.

 

UHD Copy and Conversion

 

4k video discs can take more than 20 hours to copy when a CPU is doing the copying and conversion process. However, with a GPU like GeForce GTX 10 (Pascal) Series and above the same process will take less than 1 hour or less. You can compare the performance of DVDFab Converter when using a GPU and without it for Nvidia CUDA and AMD APP and respectively. It is obvious how GPU hardware acceleration fits right into the requirements of those involved in video editing or want to copy or rip UHD discs.