Roku Ultra評論

上次更新 2022-05-19 Nicole
DVDFab Video Converter Pro
DVDFab Video Converter Pro
完全自由編輯、製作和轉檔視訊為任何格式。

披露

Roku向我們免費發送了它的產品系列,以便我們能夠對其進行審查。像往常一樣,我們要披露這一點。我們不從我們的評論副本中獲利,也不使用它們來推廣網站。這不會影響我們評論的客觀性。

設備

這是一張全新的Roku Ultra的照片。

Roku Ultra (2016)

不,只是開玩笑,那是去年的型號。這裏是今年的。

Roku Ultra (2017)

是的,看起來很相似。Roku告訴我,這款產品的功能稍微強大一些,光學音頻端口也沒有了,但除此之外,只有兩件事真正改變了:遙控器和價格。讓我們一次解決這些問題。

遙控器,在新的Roku產品線中幾乎全面升級(Roku Express和Express+被排除在外),現在有一個電源按鈕,將你的Roku遙控器變成一個通用遙控器。稍後會有更多關於這方面的內容。它還有一個耳機插孔,用於私人收聽;一些服務的快捷按鈕(包括Netflix);以及兩個用於 "遊戲 "的按鈕(A\和B\),我認爲沒有人真正使用Roku,但是,如果你需要,這些按鈕就在那裏。

至於價格,它是99.99美元,但這是我們倒數第二節的問題,所以請不要着急。不,來吧,不要滾動,我在這上面很努力。

用戶體驗

Roku有一點大字報的歡快美感,在某些地方效果很好,但可能不會像蘋果電視那樣吸引RISD的畢業生。但不要被這一點所迷惑。從用戶角度來看,Roku的平臺設計得很好。它是Apple TV的Mark Rothko的Norman Rockwell:同樣簡單,更歡快,而且更有可能被你的祖父母理解和欣賞。

Roku home screen
Roku的主屏幕

令人不快的是,Roku的操作系統也基本沒有變化。不過,對於新來者,這裏有一個簡單的概述:你在Roku上的主屏幕基本上只是一個應用程序的網格(Roku稱它們爲\channels\"渠道")。),如果你願意,你可以重新排序。你可以使用側面導航來做一些事情,比如租電影和下載更多的應用程序(對不起,"頻道"),但快速點擊遙控器的主頁按鈕總是能讓你回到那個簡單的應用程序網格。這使得Roku對你使用的服務相對來說是不可知的。而Fire TV 推廣亞馬遜的內容,並將你的應用歸入六個標籤中的第五個,而Roku則將你的應用浮現在主屏幕上,並將其無恥的宣傳留給不那麼重要的標籤(好吧,還有遙控器的快捷按鈕,我想這是通過一些金錢交易產生的)。Roku的語音搜索也是相當不可知的,雖然它不能訂比薩,但它可以幫助你找到要看的東西。

說到遙控器,它現在是通用的。Roku可以檢測到你正在使用的電視,併爲你編程,省去了 "打碼 "的步驟,這個步驟花了你5分鐘,而你的祖父母則花了幾年的時間。一旦開始工作,萬能遙控器就是一個美麗的東西。然而,它缺少一個輸入按鈕。這有助於它避免混淆你的父母,但這也意味着OTA用戶、視頻遊戲玩家和(我們敢說)用線的人仍將不得不把他們的常規遙控器放在方便的地方。當然,即使是隻用Roku的用戶,也會偶爾想拿起他們的常規遙控器來改變畫面什麼的。

Roku的通用遙控器是朝着正確的方向邁出的一步,即使缺少一兩個功能。其餘的用戶體驗幾乎與以前一樣。但Roku的用戶界面仍然明顯領先於競爭對手,在市場上幾乎所有設備都能很好地流媒體的時候,這是一個巨大的優勢。

流媒體質量

哦,對了,說到這裏:Roku Ultra的流媒體效果很好。 ,正如你所期望的那樣,作爲Roku的頂級設備,Ultra是其家族中最好的流媒體播放器。它在Wi-Fi上的流媒體效果和Fire TV一樣好,而且它能夠通過以太網連接(新的Fire TV與上一代產品不同,它需要一個適配器--單獨出售--來實現這一功能),這意味着它能夠更加可靠。Roku Ultra具有4K和HDR功能。這一部分都是好消息,夥計們。

價格

我們已經到了第二代Roku Ultra的存在價值!我們已經到了第二代Roku Ultra的存在價值。感謝你到目前爲止閱讀了這篇評論的每一篇文章,而不是僅僅滾動到這裏。Ultra是Roku第二代陣容中改進最少的一款。但它的價格已經降到了吸引人的99.99美元.這比新的Fire TV(69.99美元)和Chromecast Ultra(69美元)要高,但比上一代的價格(129.99美元)要低,比Apple TV 4K (一個健康的腎臟和你第一個孩子的靈魂)要低很多。

判決書

流媒體棒+有很多優點,其中最重要的是Roku的良好用戶體驗。對於希望在大屏幕上選擇內容(而不是在爸爸的手機或媽媽的平板電腦上)的家庭來說,它是比價格相近、同樣支持4K的Chromecast Ultra更好的選擇。很難說它是否勝過Fire TV,但我認爲它確實勝過了--雖然Fire TV感覺更強大,但我在評論中概述的用戶體驗缺點在我的評論中概述的用戶體驗缺點 讓我在這個價位上選擇流媒體棒+。

相對於它自己的產品系列,流媒體棒+處於一個很好的位置。Ultra和Streaming Stick+似乎是這個陣容中的甜蜜點。我們已經接近4K的臨界點,所以即使你還沒有4K電視,你也可能想掏出額外的20美元來購買流媒體棒+而不是流媒體棒。而且,雖然我很能理解選擇Ultra和它的好處 (包括有線連接),我也能理解節省一些現金並選擇這個型號,這是在迅速成爲流媒體市場上最重要的價格點的最佳選擇。

相關文章

Roku Ultra Review

Last Updated on 2022-06-16 Nicole
StreamFab All-In-One
StreamFab All-In-One
The best video downloading solution allows you to download videos from any streaming sites.

Disclosure

Roku sent its lineup our way for free so that we could review it. As always, we're disclosing this. We don't profit from our review copies or use them to promote the site. This won't affect the objectivity of our review.

Related Reading: Best Live TV Streaming Services

Device

Here is a photo of the brand-new Roku Ultra:

Roku Ultra (2016)

No, just kidding, that's last year's model. Here's this year's:

Roku Ultra (2017)

Yeah, lookin' pretty similar. Roku tells me this one is slightly more powerful, and the optical audio port is gone, but other than that there are only two things that have really changed here: the remote control and the price. Let's tackle those one at a time.

The remote, which was upgraded nearly across the board in the new Roku line (the Roku Express and Express+ were left out), now features a power button that turns your Roku remote into a universal remote. More on that in a bit. It also has a headphone jack for private listening; shortcut buttons for some services (including Netflix); and two buttons (“A” and “B”) for “gaming,” which is something that I don't think anyone actually does with Roku, but hey, the buttons there if you need 'em.

As for the price, it's $99.99, but that's a matter for our second-to-last section, so hold your horses. No, come on, don't scroll, I worked hard on this.

Related Reading: Hulu Reviews: Channels, Features, Price, and More

User Experience

Roku has a bit of a large-print cheerful aesthetic that works well in some places but that will probably not appeal to RISD graduates as much as Apple TV's does. But don't let that fool you: Roku's platform is well-designed from a user perspective. It is the Norman Rockwell to Apple TV's Mark Rothko: just as simple, much more cheerful, and more likely to be understood and appreciated by your grandparents.

Roku home screen
The Roku home screen

Unpleasant and untroubling as it is, Roku's OS is also largely unchanged. For newcomers, though, here's a brief overview: your home screen on Roku is essentially just a grid of apps (Roku calls them “channels”), which you can reorder if you'd like. You can use the side navigation to do things like rent movies and download more apps (sorry, “channels”), but a quick click of the remote's home button always bring you back to that simple app grid. This makes Roku relatively agnostic towards which services you use. While Fire TV pushes Amazon content and relegates your apps to the fifth of six tabs, Roku surfaces your apps to the Home screen and saves its shameless shilling for less important tabs (well, and the remote shortcut buttons, which I assume came about through some money changing hands). Roku's voice search is fairly agnostic, too, and while it can't order a pizza, it can help you find something to watch.

Speaking of the remote, it's universal now. Roku can detect the TV you're using and program the remote for you, eliminating the ¢€œpunch in the code¢€ step that cost you five minutes and your grandparents years of their lives. Once working, the universal remote is a beautiful thing. It is, however, missing an input button. That helps it to avoid confusing your parents, but it also means that OTA users, video gamers, and (dare we say it) cord-havers will still have to keep their regular remote within easy reach. And, naturally, even Roku-only users will occasionally want to dig up their regular remote to change the picture and whatnot.

Roku's universal remote is a step in the right direction, even if lacks a feature or two. The rest of the user experience is pretty much where it always was. But Roku's UI remains significantly ahead of the competition's, and at a time when just about every device on the market streams pretty well, that's a huge advantage.

Related Reading: DirecTV Stream : Cost and Subscription Price

Streaming Quality

Oh, yeah, speaking of which: the Roku Ultra streams pretty well. It was good last generation, and it's good now. As you'd expect from its status as Roku's top device, the Ultra is the best streamer in its family. It streamed about as well as the Fire TV on Wi-Fi, and its ability to connect via Ethernet(the new Fire TV, unlike the previous generation, needs an adapter – sold separately – to pull that off) means that it's capable of being even more reliable. The Roku Ultra is 4K- and HDR-capable. It's all good news in this section, folks.

Price

We have arrived at the second-gen Roku Ultra's raison d'etre! Thank you for reading every work of this review so far and not just scrolling down here. The Ultra is the least-improved of Roku's second-gen lineup, but its price has dropped to an appealing $99.99. That's more than the new Fire TV ($69.99) and Chromecast Ultra ($69), but less than the last generation's price ($129.99) and much less than the Apple TV 4K (one healthy kidney and the soul of your first-born child).

Verdict

The Streaming Stick+ has a lot going for it, not the least of which is Roku's great user experience. For families looking to choose content on the big screen (rather than on Dad's phone or Mom's tablet), it's a better choice than the similarly priced and similarly 4K-enabled Chromecast Ultra. It's harder to say if it tops the Fire TV, but I think it does – while the Fire TV feels more powerful, the user experience drawbacks I outlined in my review make me comfortable picking the Streaming Stick+ at this price point.

Relative to its own lineup, the Streaming Stick+ is in a great spot. The Ultra and Streaming Stick+ seem to be the sweet spots in this lineup. We're near the 4K tipping point, so even if you don't yet own a 4K TV, you might want to shell out the extra $20 to go with the Streaming Stick+ over the Streaming Stick. And while I can well understand opting for the Ultra and its perks (including a wired connection), I can also understand saving some cash and going with this model, which is the best option at a price point that is rapidly becoming the most important in the streaming market.

Related Articles

Best Netflix Video Downloaders in 2022
Watch your favorite Netflix movies and series offline on your smart devices using these best Netflix downloaders. They are super reliable, fast, and download videos with subtitles.